What Is State Healthcare Reporting?
In December 2017, Congress repealed the federal financial penalties for individuals not having health insurance. Since then, some states have turned to state individual mandates in order to keep their healthcare marketplaces stable. As new state individual mandates are enacted, the level of compliance and complexity for employers increases.
If an employer with 50+ employees has even a single employee filing taxes in one of these states, that employer may need to comply with the state’s individual mandate for reporting healthcare coverage information to the state, in addition to federal IRS filing requirements. Each state can have different reporting definitions, required file formats, filing deadlines and systems/IT infrastructure, making reporting compliance difficult to manage and keep track of.
2021 State Reporting Deadlines (Employer Electronic Filing)
Note: Below dates are the state electronic filing deadlines for employers. Form approval is required for filing through PlanSource.
California - March 31, 2021
New Jersey - March 31, 2021
Rhode Island - March 31, 2021
Washington D.C. - April 30, 2021
How Our State Reporting Service Works
If you use PlanSource for federal ACA reporting services and have employees in the affected states, we’ll provide services and technology to help you navigate all the complex new rules, including:
Filing and submission of Forms 1094-C and/or 1095-C for applicable residents
Report submission and state filing setup
Easy self-service form review and approval
Technology for managing corrections and support
PlanSource State Reporting Solution & Pricing
If you would like to participate in our State Compliance Reporting Service, simply visit Data & Tools > ACA State Transmission within your PlanSource system and approve your state forms before the state deadlines. We will submit the forms to the states on your behalf. You must have administrator permissions in order to access and approve ACA forms.
If you already have State ACA Reporting services included in your contract, you will be billed automatically, but we still cannot submit forms to the state on your behalf until you approve your forms in the system.
- $1,000 annual minimum per client; implementation included.
- Each FEIN requires its own state transmission. Additional fee of $100 per FEIN if more than 5 FEINs.
- PEPM fee is for total employee count for the employer, not employees within applicable state(s).
- PlanSource will not allow state reporting without federal.
- Pricing is the same for ACA standalone clients.
If you do not purchase our state compliance reporting service, you will not be able to report manually through PlanSource. If you do not report for the 2020 tax year, you may be subject to financial penalties.